ohhappyhome
Tove Johansson cushion | via ohhappyhome@wordpress.com

A glimpse inside Tove Johansson’s Home

I recently posted about Tove Johansson’s stunning new range of textiles and designs, currently in production.  Tove has kindly opened the doors to her charming brick house in Montreuil/ Vincennes, just on the edge of Paris. Ooh la la!

Tove lives here with her partner Jean Gillet and two daughters – Liv (7) and Siri (3.5).  The style of their sweet sweet home is Scandinavian, mixed with vintage finds and inherited pieces, completed with Tove’s signature colour punches.

I’m absolutely smitten with their rambling garden.  The green space is so incredibly enchanting, and can be admired from their living room and balcony.  My my, how lovely it would be to wake to this each day.

Vintage finds and home crafted pieces adorn the walls and home giving their space a lived in feel with loads of personality.  Don’t you just love that vintage clown in the girls room and the handmade mask (by Liv) on the bookshelf!

Just like Tove’s textiles, the fresh & vibrant colour accents give this home a real Scandi feel.  I’m also loving the gorgeous shade of lilac grey that Tove has painted Liv and Siri’s bunks in.  Dreamy.

What is your profession Tove?

My business is in my name ‘Tove Johansson’ and I’m a designer (print for fashion, accessories, interiors, stationery).  I’m also a fashion designer.

Where do you and your kids like to hang out in your neighborhood?

We go to Bois de Vincennes where there is a lovely park called ‘Parc Floral’.  It’s a great spot for the kids to play and enjoy many beautiful plants and flowers.

What’s a typical weekend for you?

Hanging out at home, going to the neighbourhood market, organising a dinner with friends… Or going into Paris to visit an exhibition or a flea market!

What sort of things do you get up to at home together?

My girls like to bake cakes, and we love to paint and draw together.  We also enjoy watching films.

Have you got a favorite recipe you cook for the family (or cook together)?

Homemade burgers are at the top of the list at the moment or my man’s chili con carne.  Yum.

Who is responsible for decorating the kid/s room/s and where has the inspiration come from?

I think I’m mostly responsible, but to be honest it’s quite a spontaneous mix of what I have found during the years in markets and items I’ve collected from Sweden and kept from when I was a little girl.

What do you love most about motherhood?

To see my kids grow and develop into these amazing beings!!

Tell me a bit about your background and what lead you to design your current range?

I studied fashion at Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in London, and always had a soft spot for prints and textiles. During the years I moved slowly towards designing for children and interiors, focusing on print making.

Where do you get inspired?

I love vintage books (especially children’s books), flea markets, travelling, and walking in the streets of Paris.

When is your new range likely to be released?

Still waiting for answers from the factories… I hope in autumn!

A big thank you Tove for opening up your happy family home. I’ll be sure to keep you all posted when her new products are available for sale.  You can see more of her work here.

This entry was published on July 12, 2012 at 8:37 pm and is filed under The little people sleep here, The things other people create. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

